The San Beda College with the power of autonomy granted by CHED for five (5) years created a consortium with the Loyola Medical College Foundation, Inc. to establish the San Beda College of Medicine. On March 9, 2002, the Board of Trustees of San Beda College approved the establishment of the fifth unit of San Beda, the San Beda College of Medicine. It offered a four (4) year course leading to the Degree of Doctor of Medicine. The College opened its portals for the school term 2002-2003 at its temporary home on the 5th floor of Summit One Tower Building, 530 Shaw Boulevard, Mandaluyong City to one hundred and forty-three (143) first year medical students. One year later, on June 16, 2003, the College of Medicine transferred to the San Beda College Main Campus at Mendiola Street, Manila. It occupied the St. Benedict’s Hall. By 2005-2006, the College of Medicine had the full complement of year levels with the Clinical clerks (4th year medical students).